Skip to main content

Agsafe awards winners of Education Bursary

Published: 06-02-2014

Two agricultural students have won Agsafe’s Annual Bursary Competition.

Megan Pearce from Mandagery, NSW and Christopher Hallion from Gawler, South Australia each won $2,500 to go towards their studies in agriculture.

Bursary applicants were required to fill out the online application form and submit a 500 word essay on how Agsafe and its programs: Accreditation & Training; drumMUSTER; and ChemClear, benefit the farming industry and wider community.

The two best entries were selected by a panel of 4 judges, using a standard scoring system based on rigorous selection criteria.

Agsafe General Manager Martin Shafron said the overall quality of applications was very good but Megan’s and Christopher’s essays stood out from the crowd.

“Both Christopher and Megan really showed a depth of knowledge about the importance of stewardship and our programs, and how they apply to their everyday working lives in agriculture,” he said.

“Hopefully this reward will help them further their future careers in sustainable ag’.”

Megan is currently studying a Bachelor of Agricultural Science at Charles Sturt University in Wagga Wagga, while Christopher is studying a Bachelor of Rural Science, through the University of New England in Armidale.

Both said the money will help them towards buying text books and paying off uni fees.

In the coming weeks, Agsafe will sit down and talk with the winners about their ambitions in the industry and what they want to achieve.